Energy is the most important single element of the Code for Sustainable Homes

The Code for Sustainable Homes was withdrawn by the Government in 2015 and we are no longer carrying out any assessments.

For information only:

There are six levels within the Code, from Level 1 to Level 6.  They are not easily achieved, but Energy (and Carbon Dioxide emissions), is the most important category and will get you the most points on the way to your Code Level.  Any given level requires a higher standard than the minimum Building Regulation requirement.  The Code is subject to periodic review and the latest revision came into effect in November 2010.  In May 2014 a Code Addendum was published to take account of the changes to Part L1A of the Building Regulations.

Mandatory Issues

Certain criteria have to be satisfied before you can even get on the 'Code Ladder', these are mandatory issues concerning surface water run off, storage of waste, construction waste management and the environmental impact of materials. 

Increasing Mandatory Minimum Standards

Once those mandatory issues are satisfied, then you need to consider the two issues with increasing mandatory minimum standards - these are the Dwelling Emission Rate of the dwelling and the Indoor Water use.  There are various levels of these, dependent on how high a Code Rating you want to achieve.  The lower of these two categories will determine your final Code Rating. 

Then there are the tradable issues, where you can 'pick and mix' extra points to reach the amount you need to achieve that  final Code Level. 

As a note of warning, you should always aim a bit higher than the bare minimum number of points, as points could be lost during the construction process.

The Categories

The 9 categories to consider in The Code for Sustainable Homes are:

  • Energy and Carbon Dioxide Emissions
  • Water
  • Materials
  • Surface Water Run-off
  • Waste
  • Pollution
  • Health and Wellbeing
  • Management
  • Ecology

The sections are weighted according  to their importance and some categories, such as materials, can yield relatively few points overall.  The highest weightings are to be found in Water, Ecology, Energy and Health and Wellbeing.  Within Energy, valuable points can be gained by improving the DER/TER calculation and Fabric Energy Efficiency Standard, via the SAP  assessment, which as an authorised OCDEA we can do for you. 

The Code for Sustainable Homes Assessment is a two part process consisting of the Design Stage and the Post Construction Stage.